Lavender Festival, San Juan Island

A beautiful, bright, and sunny day on San Juan Island and there is a lot going on this weekend. Farmer’s market, art show, salmon sale, and lavender festival.  I rode to the lavender festival at Palindaba Farm with a few friends and this is what I saw.

It was just beautiful.  Rows and rows of different kinds of lavender for a few acres.  During a cooking demo (more on that later) the nice old man next too me said that they owner wanted to open a farm but wanted to grow something different to avoid competition with other farms.  I guess no one was growing lavender because there is a whole lot of lavender here!  So many different types.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I bought some of their famous apple rhubarb lavender pie a la mode with lavender vanilla ice cream.

They even had crafts.  All sorts of things to make and buy, and the woman who made soap had leftover soap shavings you could make a soap ball with.  She was very nice.  I was really going to put a donation in the donation jar until I realized I had forgotten my wallet… >.<

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

It wasn’t very large or but some arts and crafts vendors, some food, music, massage, and some demos.  There was a cooking demo and the chef was preparing samples of all these dishes with lavender:  Lavender hazelnut biscotti, blueberry lavender cobbler, apricot glazed lavender duck, and roasted apricot with raspberry and goat cheese.

It was funny, cuz as the demo was going on a man with a beard sat in one of the plastic chairs in the back where one of the legs was broken and completely fell over backwards.  The nice old couple were telling me that he was the owner of the farm and if it happened to anyone, probably best if it was the boss.  haha

I would have stayed longer maybe, but my ride had to go.  I wasn’t able to check out the store but they also have a store in town down by Friday Harbor so I will try to check it out before I leave.Lavender Fields are Foreverrr!

2 responses to this post.

  1. i love the Lavender Fields!!! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

