Good To Be Home!

Summer in O’ahu was great, but coming home is always the best! My mommy had a Korean feast all prepared for me PLUS a blueberry pie! The food I missed the most in Hawai’i were berries. To me summer means loads and loads of berries but not on O’ahu. So expensive. Very unfortunate. I kept saying the first thing I was going to do when I got home was make a blueberry pie but my mommy had one waiting for me! Moms are the best.

The feast:

soon tubu jigae

steamed mandu (korean dumplings)

pan-fried mandu

spicy bacon with saam, rice, and lettuce

da table

We were griddlin on the table and plenny of food to go around. Of course, blueberry pie to top it off for dessert!

good ole messy piece of blueberry pie a la mode

I tried to make my own vanilla ice cream to top it off but it failed. I don’t think the container was cold enough so I’m going to try again in a few days. I made an ice cream run after dinner and read every company’s ingredients list to try and find one without corn syrup. Breyer’s natural vanilla qualifies but not the homemade vanilla.  Dorthy had it right.  There’s no place like home!

Leave a Reply

