Weekend Eats: Giovanni Shrimp, Matsumoto’s Shave Ice, Kahala Nuts

This past weekend was a whirlwind. My weekends left in Honolulu are dwindling so I’ve felt a need to do as much as possible. Saturday morning I did an ocean swim from Chun’s Reef to Waimea Bay, Saturday afternoon I drove around with friends eating my way through the North Shore, Sunday morning I went diving, and Sunday afternoon I had my last sailing class.

The rest of Saturday was spent frolicking around North Shore eating lots. First stop was Giovanni’s shrimp truck. There were a lot of shrimp trucks to choose from on that road. I think the area was Kahana and Giovanni’s seemed to be a very established one.

I split a hot n spicy shrimp with a friend for $13 and they weren’t lying when they call it hot n spicy. I am a spicy food fan and I could eat it all but I wasn’t going to lick the sauce off the plate. The spiciness factor was a little too much for me and made eating the shrimp a little less enjoyable. I guess I should have taken it more seriously when they state on the menu that there are no refunds for hot n spicy shrimp.

Next stop was Matsumoto’s Shave Ice in Hale’iwa. Shave ice is a Hawaiian speciality. They are basically snow cones on steroids. You can get it with ice cream, condensed milk drizzled on top, and choose from literally a gazillion flavors.

Not to mention they are huge.

I got a large mango, blueberry, and one more flavor I can’t remember with condensed milk on top. mmm There was a huge line out the door but they have streamlined operation so you don’t really have to wait that long. The store is full of different t-shirts and shave ice gear like key chains.

Shave ice is awesome because it’s cheap, fun, and Hawai’i has the best.

The night before I went to see hp7pt2 at the theater and they were selling Kahala candied nuts! There were macnuts, pecans, and almonds. I of course had to get the macnuts and it was either 1 for $5 or 2 for $8 (or was it 1 for $4 and 2 for $6??) so I opted for the better deal and more nuts and got macnuts and almonds. I finished the macnuts during the movie before I could even get a picture. I saved the almond ones for later.

Overall
Giovanni’s: + + + + 4 pluses
Matsumoto’s: <0 <0 <0 <0 <0 5 shaved ices
Kahala Nuts: co co co co co 5 diamond nuts

Diving pictures in case you’re interested. YO (yard oiler wreck and Nautilus Reef)


Leave a Reply

