Weekend Eats: La Tour Macaroons, Liliha Coco Puffs

Last weekend presented some good eating opportunities in the desserts category.

La Tour Macaroons:

I was always confused about macaroons because I thought they were all like coconut macaroons and didn’t know why they looked like colorful chocopies.  These were my first macaroons everrr and they were quite delicious.  There were plenty of flavors to choose from:

And I ended up getting 3.

matcha (green tea)

strawberry black currant

banana caramel

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The macaroons were cheerfully hued, light, creamy centered, sugary delights.  The banana had good banana cream filling but not so much caramel flavor.  Matcha had a nice green tea pop and I love how the inside is so bright green!  Strawberry with a black currant surprise in the middle for a little more chewy texture.

I had packed a pbj on La Tour squaw bread from the farmer’s market for a snack and also bought a vietnamese ice coffee so it was a meal!

The only real downside was the price.  They were $1.75 x 3 = $5.25 for 3 macaroons… a little on the pricey side for a few cookies but hey, just more economic portion control.

I also went to a friend’s house for dinner last weekend and someone brought Liliha Bakery Coco Puffs.

These are apparently Liliha Bakery’s specialty.  They are chocolate filled cream puffs with a signature Liliha topping that you see in the picture.  I don’t think I’ve ever had anything quite like this topping, not quite a frosting but very think, sweet, and buttery.  The girl who brought them said there was a woman getting a cake frosted in the stuff when she picked them up at the bakery!

mmm mmm

I also made a haupia pie to take to my friend’s dinner.  If you don’t know what that is see my pi day post!  I only had a few hours hence the speed cooling in the freezer.

Overall

La Tour: o o o o   4/5 macaroons

Liliha Coco Puffs: o o o o   4/5 coco puffs

Haupia Pie:  simplest tropical pie you can do, if only I had time for a homemade crust

Leave a Reply

