Bubbie’s!

At last after a few weeks on island I have finally made it to Bubbie’s Ice Cream!!

the window sign at the University Ave location

For weeks I had been unknowingly passing it pergrinating to grocery stores and bus stops in the area but I finally snooped around for it after my sailing class last week.  I went to the one off University Ave near UH Manoa and it’s kinda in the back corner away from the intersection.  It doesn’t really matter though because it seems everyone knows where it is because it’s Bubbie’s!  People were coming in and out the entire time I was there for a constant line.

It was a cute space with a colorful chalkboard menu detailing sundaes and little wooden tables and chairs with framed articles detailing the glory of the ice cream mochi decorating the walls.  There was an ice cream counter and display case of some yummy looking peanut butter pies and such but seriously my query was ICM.  I digress.

So let’s get down to business to defeat … the Huns I mean about the ICE CREAM MOCHI!!

trio of Bubbie's ICM offerings: lilikoi, saurka, green tea

It is truly a beautiful sight to behold.  They’re like perfect, pastel, jewels of ice cream enveloped in a precise layer of chewy mochi.  They were pretty frozen and I was initially a little hesitant to bite into them for fear of cold tooth syndrome, but of course I did.  I actually found the mochi acts as a protective layer for cold sensitive front teeth.  I told you this was good stuff.

lilikoi aka passion fruit

green tea

sakura

There was a small board listing the mochi flavors of the day and there were a little more than 10.  There were your standards like vanilla and chocolate, the tropicals like lilikoi (Hawaiian for passion fruit) and guava, and the Japanese influenced like the sakura and green tea from what I can remember.  I believe the more specialized flavors rotate daily.

The lilikoi ICM was bright and sunny with lilikoi ice cream wrapped in lilikoi mochi.  The sakura was a cute pink with vanilla interior and I think sakura is the cherry blossom festival in Japan?  I didn’t really taste cherry in the mochi or maybe it’s called sakura just based on the cherry-blossom-pink color?  It was good nonetheless.  Finally, the green tea ice cream lined with green tea mochi.  Delish.  I’m pretty sure I’ve had green tea ice cream mochi from Trader Joe’s before…  The taste was pretty comparable.  I’ll have to scout those out when I get home.

yum in a black styrofoam bowl

Ice cream is all about the texture: the smooth, creamy, coldness melting in your mouth and paired with delicate, chewy mochi it is a perfect compliment.  A match made in heaven.

And to bring you back down to Earth, they go for $1 a pop and I read on one of the articles posted on the wall that they are 1/4 oz ice cream balls.  So I guess $1 for a quarter of an ounce of ice cream is pretty pricey? but I’ll think of it more as economic portion control.  If you buy more it does get slightly cheaper, 3 for $2.95 (5 cents, whoopie) up to 12 for $11.  There were people buying two dozen of these babies to go and $3 for a nice ice cream repast isn’t bad.

So I can cross Bubbie’s off my “must-do” list in Hawai’i:

  1.  Bubbie’s ICM!
  2. GRE
  3. scuba
  4. beach repose
  5. Harry’s Cafe kimchi omelette
  6. eat lots of mangoes
  7. see Forks over Knives
  8. Diamond head
  9. farmer’s markets
  10. bentos

That doesn’t mean I’m not coming back!

Summary: o o o o o   5/5 little ICMs

I only wish they had a bathroom.  I really wanted to wash my hands after my sailing class.  And of course there’s that styrofoam bowl.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by yiwen on July 15, 2011 at 2:52 am

    HAHA i laughed out loud at the part with the mulan song 😛 these ICM look soo good! i must try to make mine better! sakura is the japanese term for cherry blossoms 🙂 did the ice cream taste flowery?

    Reply

    • ya i’m not sure what kind of mood i was in when i wrote this… haha
      as far as i could tell the sakura ICM was vanilla ice cream with pink mochi. i couldn’t really detect any sort of cherry blossomy flavor
      still soo good!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

