A Most Delicious ‘Holiday’

HAPPY PI DAY EVERYONE!  I hope everyone enjoyed their pi day.

What is pi day you ask?  Pi (as in the irrational number pi, 3.1415926 etc.) day is celebrated on March the 14th, 3/14 = 3.14 = pi.  How does one celebrate pi day you ask?  By eating pie of course!  I’ve been celebrating it this way since high school and it’s been a favorite ever since.

The pie of 2011:  Haupia Pie

You may be wondering… What the heck is haupia?  Haupia is a traditional Hawaiian coconut custard that is delicious and extremely easy to make.  I’ve made it before with a shortbread crust on the bottom but never in a pie form.

The haupia recipe I used was based from the this website.

Crust:
2 sticks (1c) butter softened a bit
2 cups flour (I used whole wheat)
4 T sugar

Haupia:
2 13.5 oz cans coconut milk
2 1/2 cups water
1 cup sugar
1 cup cornstarch
Makes 3, 8-9 inc pies.

For the crust you simply mix all the ingredients and press it into a pie pan.

Whole Wheat shortbread dough.

Dough was sticky.  I ended up using a little water to pat it into the pans.

Dough in the pie pans

I baked them off for about 18 minutes in the DRAGONN aka my oven.  My apartment oven is this old gas oven where it spouts out actual flames to heat it up.

The whole wheat crusts getting comfy in the dragon.

After they were golden brown and crispy looking I decided to open a can of mandarin oranges and put them on the bottom of the crust.

Don't those mandarin oranges look good?

On to the haupia.  Basically it cannot get any easier.  Combine the coconut milk and water in a pot and stir to mix.  Add the cornstarch and sugar and heat on low heat stirring pretty constantly until it has thickened up nicely ~ 5 minutes or so.

All the ingredients in a pot on low heat in the beginning.

... and done! Look how thick, shiny, and gorgeous it looks.

Gorgeous lookin pies, no?

Pour it into the crusts, add a little mandarin orange on top for decoration, and let it sit in the refrigerator to set.

There you have it.  Haupia pie with mandarin oranges.  Simple, easy, and delicious!  A perfect way to celebrate pie day.

This is how much was gone after my roommate and I had breakfast:

Pie for breakfast? Of course!

Sigh.  Only on pie day… not.  I’ll be eating this pie for awhile!

Yay for pi day!  The perfect cross-section between math and food or as my friend put it, the perfect excuse to make pie.  Either way, it is a great way to take a slice out of life!

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by junni on March 24, 2011 at 2:50 am

    that looks so delicious!!! make me one over the summer? 🙂 I totally forgot about pi day this year because you weren’t around to remind me about it!

    Reply

  2. […] a haupia pie to take to my friend’s dinner.  If you don’t know what that is see my pi day post!  I only had a few hours hence the speed cooling in the […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

